Skip to content

Allegiance Banker Marcus A. Vasquez Honored by American Bankers Association

Allegiance Banker Marcus A. Vasquez was honored by the American Bankers Association, receiving the ABA Foundation’s 2018 George Bailey Distinguished Service award for his efforts to assist his community after Hurricane Harvey. Marcus currently serves as the vice president and fair banking officer for Allegiance Bank and has more than 14 years of banking experience both as a federal bank regulator and a community banker. Marcus was honored at the ABA’s Annual Convention in New York on October 23.

The George Bailey Distinguished Service Award is given to a non-CEO bank employee who demonstrates outstanding initiative, commitment to their customers and community, and the ability to inspire others. The ABA Foundation selects the winner after review of nominations submitted by banks of all sizes across the country.

As a native Houstonian, Marcus was devastated by the effects of Hurricane Harvey and felt compelled to help Houston get back on its feet. Marcus worked to lead Allegiance Bank employees in clean up and volunteer efforts, as well as quick funding and financial assistance to those whose homes and businesses had been destroyed. Through Marcus’ leadership, we were able to facilitate 41 grants to businesses, homeowners and non-profit organizations totaling $367,000.

In addition to his work after Harvey and his daily responsibilities at Allegiance Bank, Marcus is also actively involved with local non-profit organizations, serving on the board of directors of the Fifth Ward Community Redevelopment Corporation for more than seven years.

“Marcus has devoted countless hours to community organizations and initiatives that have resulted in the creation of new jobs, affordable housing and healthy communities across the Houston area, ” said George Martinez, president and CEO of Allegiance Bank. “His efforts throughout this banking career and specifically during the recovery from Hurricane Harvey make him absolutely deserving of this award.”

To learn more about the American Bankers Association’s George Bailey Distinguished Service Award, click here.

Receive News and Insights from Allegiance Bank

Stay Connected

Enter your name and email address to receive Allegiance Bank news in your inbox.

When users fill out this form, they are requesting to be added to Allegiance Bank's email distribution list.


Paola Than Named to ICBA Independent Banker’s 40 Under 40

Independent Banker magazine, the award-winning monthly publication of the Independent Community Bankers of America® (ICBA), unveiled its annual…

Learn More >

Rachel’s PPP Story

Woman-owned business and Allegiance customer Identity Plus LLC experienced firsthand the positive economic impact of PPP loans.

Learn More >

Rent, Buy, Refinance: 5 Questions to Guide Your Decision

Whether you’re a first-time homebuyer or a current owner looking to sell or refinance, there are a few key questions that should help guide your decision.

Learn More >

Banker Spotlight: Paola Than

At Allegiance, we serve our communities and each other. In today’s Banker Spotlight we recognize Compliance Officer Paola Than.

Learn More >

Our Specialty

A Note From the Chairman | In just a matter of weeks we have now completed thousands of them for hundreds of millions of dollars that have been going straight into our community to help small businesses manage their payrolls.

Learn More >

CARES Act Customer Update

With the signing of the CARES Act (the “Act”) into law on Friday, March 27, we have updated our SBA page to provide information on the SBA Paycheck Protection Program (PPP).

Learn More >

5 Ways to Boost Your Financial Health Amidst COVID-19

Financial decisions can feel complex and hard even under normal circumstances. If the current market volatility has…

Learn More >

4 Simple Financial Fitness Activities that Parents & Students Can Do at Home

With COVID-19 driving widespread closures of our nation’s schools, many parents are facing new obstacles that they…

Learn More >

Ready, Set, Wait

Now is the time that your community bank relationship presents its value most clearly. Business planning is critical. Your banker is a valuable resource.

Learn More >

Introducing SecurLOCK Equip: Prevent Debit Card Fraud and Control Spending

Mobile technology that allows you to start/stop your debit card and receive real-time notifications.

Learn More >